Chile I Division

First Division. 15 teams, standard league format, the last 2 relegates, the 14th going to promotion/relegation play-off against the qualified Second Division team. The teams finishing in 2-5 places went to play-offs to decide the second Chilean team for Copa Libertadores. The champion qualified directly. More or less two teams competed for the title this season, but at the end the ‘usual suspect’ won.
Deportes Valdivia finished last with 15 points. Absolute outsider and relegated.
Rangers also went down – 15th with 21 points.
Union San Felipe – 14th with 23 points and that on worse goal-difference. But it was not the end of their misfortunes… they lost the promotion/relegation play-off in overtime against Santiago Wanderers and thus were relegated to Second Division.
Fernandez Vial was lucky – with 5 goals better goal-difference than Union San Felipe, they clinched the safe 13th place with 23 points.
Deportes Iquique – 12th with 26 points.
Everton – 11th with 28 points.
Huachipato – 10th with 28 points.
Naval – 9th with 28 points. Standing from left: Enriquez (Utilero), Mario Rodríguez, Jaime Gaete, Alejandro Gutiérrez, Héctor Roco, Nelson Figueroa, Arturo Jaúregui.
Crouching: Alfredo Núñez, Germán Magaña, Oscar Lee-Chong, Mario Pérez, Héctor Ortiz.
Union Espanola – 8th with 30 points.
Deportes Concepcion – 7th with 31 points.
O’Higgins – 6th with 31 points.
Deportes La Serena – 5th with 34 points.
Cobresal – 4th with 36 points.
Cobreloa – 3rd with 39 points.
Universidad Catolica – 2nd with 42 points.
Colo Colo – champions with 45 points from 20 wins, 5 ties, and 5 losses. Scored 60 goals, allowed 28 in their net.
The 1989 champions: second row from left: Marcelo Ramirez, Hugo Gonzalez, Lizardo Garrido, Reinaldo Hoffmann, Eduardo Vilches, Miguel Ramirez, Rafael Contador, Leonardo Soto, Javier Margas, Ricardo Dabrowski, Leonel Herrera, Hugo Bello, Jose Daniel Moron;
Sitting: Leonardo Montenegro, Raul Ormeño, Jaime Pizarro, Alfonso Neculñir, Sergio Salgado, Guillermo Carreño, Sergio Diaz, Juan Soto, Ruben Espinoza, Marcelo Barticciotto, William Alarcon.
Colo Colo won its 16th title. The also won the Chilean Cup – a tournament existing since 1958 and practically unique for South America, where national cups hardly ever existed.